County Cross Country Champoinships Sun March 6th

Junior Men in full flight

Ideal weather and a dry testing course made for perfect conditions for cross country running. Special Thanks to Gowran AC for organising the event and to kevin O Donnell for making the venue available.

In the  Junior Womens race Aoife O Connor Thomastown was a clear winner and Eamon O Connor KCH lead home his KCH team mates in the Junior Mens Race.

Womens Race

In the womens 1500 metre race Maria Griffen St Josephs was the front runner in a strong field and held off Niamh Richardson of KCH to take the gold . KCH athletes finishing in 2nd, 3rd and 4th place won the team gold. Thomastown picked up the team silver medals

The mens race was run over 6 km and the 4 lap course was a good test of fitness and stamina for the athletes. Mick Kelly was more than equal to the task and the firm going on the undulating course did not unduly trouble the Gowran Athlete who ran out a clear winner. Sean Caulfield, St Senans ran to his usual high standard to finish in second place and take silver. David Farrell, Gowran AC ran a great race to finish in the bronze medal position.

Derek Deevey in 7th place completed the team for Gowran giving them the gold medals. St Senans finished in the silver medal position with PJ Dwyer and PJ Irish completing their team. Patrick Bookle was the first St Josephs athlete home and they took the team bronze

Junior Women

1 Aoife O Connor Thomastown 2 Meggan O Keefe KCH

Junior Men

1 Eamon O Connor KCH, 2 Conor Quinlan KCH, 3 Nicholas Dunphy KCH, 4 Michael Brennan KCH

Senior Women (Over 30)

1 Maria Griffen St Josephs, 2 Niamh Richardson KCH, 3 Ciara Martin KCH, 4 Irene Henebry KCH, 5 Sheila O Callaghan KCH, 6 Margaret Power Thomastown, 7 V Fenlon St Josephs, 8 Maria Walsh Thomastown 9 Breda O Shea Thomastown

Teams: 1 KCH (9) 2 Thomastown (23)

Senior Men (Over 35)

1 Mick Kelly Gowran, 2 Sean Caulfield St Senans, 3 David Farrell Gowran, 4 Patrick Bookle St Josephs, 5 Pat O Reilly Thomastown, 6 PJ Dwyer St Senans, 7 Derek Deevey Gowran 8 Michael Power St Josephs, 9 Denis Cormack Gowran, 10 Gary Farrell Gowran, 11 Bill Doherty St josephs, 12 Terry Brophy Thomastown, 13 PJ Irish St Senans 14 Michael O Keefe Thomastown 15 Willie McTiernan KCH

Teams: 1 Gowran (11) 2 St Senans (21) 3 St Josephs (23) 4 Thomastown (30)

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: