Gowran Victories in Short Course Cross Country

Ann Doyle, Gowran AC was the winner of the womens 2k race with Anne Marie O Grady and Ciara Martin, both KCH, in second and third place.

In the mens race 20 athletes faced the starter and Patrick Bookle, St Josephs took an early lead however patience paid off for Lydon Barcoe, Gowran, who made his move and secured victory. Lydon was followed home by the evergreen David Farrell making it a one and two for Gowran. Pat O Reilly, Thomastown, came through to take the individual bronze medal.

Next home was Rocky Mernagh, St Josephs, to claim the O45 gold, his was followed home by team mates Patrick Bookle and Jack Duggan, Rodger Middleton, Gowran AC came in next and claimed the Novice Gold. Micheal Power in 8th completed the St Josephs team giving them 23 pts however Muirtis Bric despite recovering from a back injury had a fine run to finish 11th giving Gowran a total of 21 points and the team gold. Thomastown won team bronze.

Mick Walsh, Gowran AC was first in the O55 and Mick Hogan Gowran was first O60

warming down in Freshford

Full Results

Senior Men   Senior Women
1 Lyndon Barcoe Gowran Ann Doyle Gowran AC
2 David Farrell Gowran Anne Marie O Grady KCH
3 Pat O Reilly Thomastown Ciara Martin KCH
4 Rocky Mernagh St Josephs
5 Patrick Bookle St Josephs
6 Jack Duggan St Josephs
7 Rodger Middleton Gowran
8 Michael Power St Josephs
9 Colm Murray KCH
10 Liam O Shea Thomastown
11 Muiris Bric Gowran
12 Danny Shanahan Thomastown
13 Mick Walsh Gowran
14 Bill Carroll Thomastown
15 Tom McDonnell St Josephs
16 Marty Kelly Gowran
17 Denis Cormack Gowran
18 Willie McTiernan KCH
19 Jimmy Lennon Gowran
20 Mick Hogan Gowran

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: