KCH 2012 Awards

Club chairman, Michael Lanigan, welcomed the large gathering at the KCH Awards night in the Pembroke Hotel on Friday. He paid tribute to the athletes, coaches, officials and parents for their collective contribution to the marvellous achievements during the past year. He thanked all those who had come to honour the stars of 2012. And there were many stars – ranging from under 8 athlete Eva Delaney, who had a 50 seconds improvement in her 400m “Time Trials” times to international and two times Olympian, Joanne Cuddihy.

 Apart from individual performance,s for which athletes received presentations on the night, many team achievements were also recounted. Notable among these were the men’s national league team winning promotion to the Premier Division,   the Novice Men and Senior Men winning county cross-country championships and the juveniles retaining the county track and field shield. At Leinster track and field, the under 12 to under 15 athletes were clear winners of the Mick Quinn Cup while the Eurotab Cup for best club in the under 16 to under 19 age group was also won by KCH. It was disappointing to lose the Hehir Shield for best relay club in Leinster but there was some consolation at national level with the girls under 18 winning gold in the outdoor final and the under 19 girls winning the indoor and outdoor relay finals.

In addition to the usual awards Olympians, Catriona Cuddihy and Joanne Cuddihy, and European cross-country runner, Brian Maher, were presented with specially engraved Duiske Glass.

There was also a presentation to Fiona McGeary, recently retired as club registrar/treasurer, in recognition of her immense contribution to the club over a number of years.


Perpetual Award Winners -Juvenile

Under 11/12 Cup: Rachel Kelly; Hacketstown Trophy: Annie O’Connor; Whitebridge Trophy: Adam FitzPatrick; Dungarvan Trophy: Aoibhe O’Shea; Under 14 McDonagh Cup: Lauren Gleeson; Bree Trophy: Luke FitzPatrick; Achievement Cup: Ciara Deely; Sean Byrne Cup: Sinead McDonagh; Costello Shield: Aaron Barron; Mazda Cup: Sarah Kate Lacey; Versatile Award: Catriona Twomey; Cross Country Cup: Anna Sheehan; P J Smyth Cup: Jack Manning; Lynch Shield: Lorraine O’Shea; Tommy Deegan Trophy: Cliodhna Manning.


Perpetual Award Winners –Senior

The Lanigan Cup for Track Athlete: Joanne Cuddihy; Sean Byrne Shield for Field Athlete: Michael Bowler; The Nolan Cup for Cross-Country: Brian Maher; Achievement Shield: Louise Holmes; Harry Meighan Cup: David McGeary.


Achievement Awards

Rory MacGabhann, Orla Casey, Ed Dunne, Martyna Balcer,  Sinead Tuohy, Callan Byrne, Peter Lynch, Craig Byrne, Eimear O’Donoghue, Aoibhe Richardson, Margaret Caldbeck, Nicholas Dunphy.


Special Awards

Novice Athlete of The Year: Donna Dowling

Juveniles: Fiona Dillon, Emma Manogue, Caoimhe Carroll, Margaret Mary O’Shea.

Medal Winners in Time Trials

400m – Eva Delaney, Beth Matthews, James Tuohy, Thomas Tuohy.

600m – Shaina MacGabhann, Keara Ryan, Cait Whelan, Dara Whelan, Katie Ryan, Laura Ryan.

1000m – Niamh Glynn, Ella Richardson, Nicola Murphy

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: