County Novice Cross Country Championships: Nov 14th 2010

Titles for Power and Barcoe

A veteran runner of many races, Margaret Power, Thomastown took the Novice Ladies cross-country title in Kilmacow on Sunday. Margaret set to her task from the start and was the front runner throughout the 3K race. In contrast, Oonagh Hennessy, KCH, in this her second  race in cross-country, tracked Power all the way to win silver. Fiona Dennehy, better known as a race walker, took the bronze for the St Senan’s club. KCH finishing on 15 points were shield winners ahead of the Gowran club who had 17 points.

A field of twentyone men, with very varied athletic backgrounds, lined up for the start of the Men’s Novice 6K race. Some of the runners were real novices, like the KCH duo of Denis Carrigan and Richard Limpkin, making their cross-country debut. There was race-walker, Michael O’Keeffe, Thomastown; Some were veteran athletes – Rocky Mernagh, St Joseph’s, Mick Walsh, Gowran and P J Irish, St Senan’s; Road runner, Davy Hogan, KCH; Eamon O’Connor, KCH and Shane Noonan, Gowran brought a youthful blend. By the halfway stage of the race all the runners, except the leading trio, were strung out over the length of the 1500m race lap. Jimmy Barcoe, Gowran, and Eamon O’Connor and Padraig Daly, both KCH were the three setting the pace. O’Connor and Barcoe looked strongest with Daly working hard to stay in touch. Going out on the final lap Barcoe upped the tempo and O’Connor was unable to respond. The result was Barcoe number one, O’Connor number two and Daly number three. KCH with O’Connor, Daly, Davy Hogan 4th and Denis Carrigan 10th took first team medals with 19 points and re-captured the Novice Cup which they last won in 2007. Thomastown were second club with 38 points and Gowran a close third on 40 points.

Placings – Novice Ladies

1 Margaret Power, T; 2 Oonagh Hennessy, K; 3 Fiona Dennihy, S; 4 Deirdre Phelan, G; 5 Mairead Lacey, K; 6 Martina Prendergast, G; 7 Marie Whelan, G; 8 Emer O’Shaughnessy, K; 9 Roseanne Kennedy, S; 10 Tracy Malone, J.

Placings – Novice Men

1 Jimmy Barcoe, G; 2 Eamon O’Connor, K; 3 Padraig Daly, K;4 Davy Hogan, K; 5 Rocky Mernagh, J; 6 Shane Noonan, G; 7 Danny Shanahan, T; 8 Paul Dunne, T; 9 Terry Brophy, T; 10 Denis Carrigan, K; 11 Steve Dermody, K; 12 Mick Walsh, G; 13 Tom McDonald, J; 14 Michael O’Keeffe, T; 15 Richard Limpkin, K; 16 John Finn, S; 17 Andy Dollard, S; 18 P J Irish, S; 19 Luke Creane, K; 20 John Wallis, S; 21 Simon Maher, G.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: