Pink Rock 10km – Sunday 14th June 2015.

After months of planning and preparation, the Pink Rock 10km organised by St Joseph’s Athletic Club was a resounding success with almost 300 runners and walkers testing themselves over the new course beside the River Barrow bathed in Mediterranean like sunshine. With athletes drawn from clubs throughout the south east and further afield, the race, now in its fourth year, has firmly established itself on the road racing calendar in the South East.

The race winner was Brian Kirwan, St Laurence O Tooles, Carlow in a time of 32:34. Second and third across the line were Tom Hogan and Myles Gibbons, both SBR, Wexford. Norah Newcombe, Mayo AC was first woman across the line in a time of 37:25 with Sharon Cleere second and Donna Dowling Kilkenny City Harriers third. The junior women’s race was won by Maeve O Connor, Thomastown AC with Ethan Anderson United Striders AC winning the junior men’s battle. Stephanie Johnston was first lady O40 with John McGrath United Striders AC first O40 male. Ted Flannelly United Striders AC was first O45 with Ger Maloney St Pauls, Wexford first O50 and Con Kelliher, Waterford AC winning the O60 category. Sharon Flynn WAC was first home in the woman’s O45 race with Bridget O’Flynn first in the O50 category.
However everyone that finished the course was a winner with all having their own story to tell at a carnival like atmosphere in Rosbercon Parish Centre afterwards with a selection of food, including a barbeque, that had to be seen to be believed. A huge thank you is due to the army of club volunteers who helped with a huge organisational task on the day, and the club members who planned the event for months. A special thank you also to all the local businesses who sponsored the event. This event also incorporated the county 10km road championships.

The county 10km was won by David McPhearson KCH, followed in 2nd by club mate Paul Moran and in 3rd by Derek Kehoe of Gowran. The ladies race was won by Donna Dowling of KCH, with Elaine O’Donovan from the host club in 2nd and AnnMarie O’Grady KCH in 3rd. Gowran won the team title with St. Josephs 2nd and Gowran second team 3rd. Team gold for the ladies went to KCH, silver to St. Josephs and bronze to Thomastown.

Full Results:
Key: (BR)= Brow Rangers, (CC) = Castlecomer, (G) = Gowran, (KCH) = Kilkenny City Harriers, (SJ) = St. Josephs, (SS) = St. Senans, (S/F0 = Stoneyford, (TT) = Thomastown

1.David McPhearson (KCH), 2.Paul Moran (KCH), 3. Derek Kehoe (G), 4. Luke Morgan (SS), 5. Joe Rossiter (SJ), 6. Simon O’Dwyer (G), 7. Billy Holden (G), 8. Danny Shanahan (TT), 9. Paddy O’Keeffe (G), 10. Brendan Murphy (G), 11. Pat Coady (G), 12. Michael Ryan (SJ), 13. Paul Sheehan (SJ), 14. Patrick Bookle (SJ), 15. David Dempsey (G), 16. Eoin Molloy (KCH), 17. David Lanigan (SJ), 18. John Moran (S/F). 19. Bill Carroll (TT), 20. Fergal O’Dwyer (G), 21. John Richardson (SJ), 22. Colum Sheridan (SS), 23. Robert Dunne (CC), 24. Stephen O’Connor (SJ), 25. Enda Glennon (CC), 26. John Joe Lawlor (SJ), 27. Rocky Mernagh (SJ), 28. Andy Dollard (SS), 29. Chris McNamara (SJ), 30. Bernard O’Gorman (KCH).


1. Donna Dowling (KCH), 2. Elaine O’Donovan (SJ), 3. AnnMarie O’Grady (KCH), 4. Orla McPhillips (KCH), 5. Caoilte Malone (KCH). 6. Maura Brambrick (G), 7. Kathyrn Nolan (CC), 8. Barbara Rossiter (KCH), 9. Meggan Morrissey (TT), 10. Caroline Mullally (SJ), 11. Niamh Whelan (TT), 12. Maria Murphy (KCH), 13. Siobhan Mullally (SJ), 14. Maeve O’Connor (TT), 15. Valerie O’Callaghan(SS), 16. Mairead O’Donovan (SJ), 17. Siobhan O’Leary (SJ), 18. Deirdre Scott (KCH), 19. Rachel O’Hara (G), 20. Mary Ann Molloy (KCH), 21. Irene Henebry (KCH), 22. Siobhan O’Dwyer (G), 23. Margaret Dillon (CC), 24. Michelle Ryan (G), 25. Niamh O’Shea (TT), 26. Una Byrne (KCH), 27. Helen Gilman (KCH), 28. Mary McDonald (SJ), 29. Eva Richardson (SJ), 30. Mary Doolan (SJ), 31. Fiona Doolan (SJ), 32. Patrica Foskin (SS), 33. Tracey Malone (SJ), 34. Emma Dunne (G), 35. Emily Byrne (G).

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: