County B’s Evens and Novice Gowran

O the cold was singing out from the air and the chill was falling from the trees as Kilkenny juveniles braced themselves for the County B Championships and Novice in Gowran. Hundreds of willing children lined up for the very competitive county B races. Again very large fields of athletes in each age category once again proved that cross country running is gaining significant credence in the Kilkenny sporting world. While the B races were underfoot, a large proportion of our ineligible juveniles were taking part in the juvenile county cross country squads training session. It is fantastic to see so many enthusiastic youngsters in action all in one place. Things were certainly happening in Gowran today. A significant few moments for Barrow Harriers today as they recorded some podium placings in these highly competitive fields. With performances like today, it won’t be long before they will be vying the more established clubs for the county shield.

The novice race was a thriller in both the ladies and mens. In the ladies Michelle McDonlad left no doubt as to her current form, ticking her novice box emphatically as she won by a clear margin. The real battle was in the team section where St Senan’s and Gowran swapped the leading stakes several times during the race. Gowran coming out victorious in the final result. Gowran also produced the individual mens winner in the form of Tom Corrigan. Whilst in the team section KCH left no doubt as to their dominance in this seasons Cross Country county races by claiming both first and second teams. Post race, there were alot of extremely tired individuals, bodies flung on the grass, dazed looks – the battles were tough but the prognosis for recovery is good.


Girls u/8: 1 Holly Drennan (G) 2 Aisling Phelan (CC) 3 Lilly Brennan (G) 4 Chloe Byrne (BH) 5 Niamh Brennan (G) 6 Orla Nullally (SJ) 7 Katie Byrne (BH) 8 Anna Kelsey (G) 9 Dervla Ryan (SJ) 10 Mia Brennan (TT)

Boys u/8: 1 Robert Coogan (G) 2 Brian Ryan (TT) 3 Robert Cullen (KCH) 4 David Timmons (G) 5 Darragh Carroll (G) 6 Daniel Bolger (BH) 7 Darragh Ryan (TT) 8 Eoin Ryan (G) 9 Sean Lavin (BH) 10 Conor Coogan (Brow)

Girls u/10: 1 Aibhie Sterger (G) 2 Aisling Coverdale (TT) 3 Megan Kinsella (BH) 4 Orla Byrne (BH) 5 Grace Gilmartin (SS) 6 Aisling Mullally (SJ) 7 Aoife Dillon (CC) 8 Mary Kate Ryan (SJ) 9 Lucy Conway (G) 10 Eimhin Donohue (SS) Teams: 1 Barrow Harriers 2 St Senans 3 Thomastown

Boys u/10: 1 Anil Ramasawmy (SS) 2 Conor Carroll (G) 3 John Cummins (SJ) 4 Tomas Carroll (G) 5 Jamie Callahan (CC) 6 Kyle Bolger (SJ) 7 Barry Furlong (SJ) 8 Odhran Prendergast (G) 9 James Kelsey (G) 10 Paddy Purcell (KCH). Teams: 1 Gowran 2 St Josephs 3 Gowran

Girls u/12: 1 Rachael O’Neill (G) 2 Meave Bookle (SJ) 3 Aine O’Callaghan (SS) 4 Laura Challaner (TT) 5 Eabha Mullally (SJ) 6 Blathin Holden (KCH) 7 Grace Ramasawmy (SS) 8 Caoimhe Power (TT) 9 Roisin Brennan (G) 10 Emer Phelan (CC). Teams: 1 St Senans 2 St Josephs 3 Gowran.

Boys u/12: 1 Colm Hayes (CC) 2 Stephen Kinsella (BH) 3 Sean Young (KCH) 4 James Cummins (SJ) 5 Eoin Brennan (G) 6 Jack Cougar (Brow) 7 Matthew McAvinney (G) 8 Michael Holland (G) 9 Mikey Keating (G) 10 Luke Gamble (CC). Teams: 1 Gowran 2 Castlecomer 3 Gowran

Girls u/14: 1 Molly O’Doran (CC) 2 Emily Murphy (CC) 3 Maria Connolly (G) 4 Aisling Fitzpatrick (G) 5 Niamh Cuddihy (SS) 6 Sophie Monahan (SS) 7 Aisling Cleary (SS). Teams: 1 St Senans

Boys u/14: 1 Billy Power (TT) 2 Luke Phelan (G) 3 Jamie O’Connor (SJ) 4 Gearoid Long (SS) 5 Matthew Holland (G) 6 Alex Cass (TT) 7 Darragh Nolan (G) 8 Jim Power (TT) 9 Timmy Barron (G) 10 Oisin Molloy (TT) 11 Niall Shorthall (TT). Teams: 1 Gowran 2 Thomastown

Girls u/16: 1 Ellen Fitzgerald (KCH) 2 Katie Bookle (SJ) 3 Eve O’Dwyer (G) 4 Becca Lennon (G) 5 Emma Farrell (G) 6 Robyn Deneiffe (G). Teams: 1 Gowran.

Boys u/16: 1 David Holland (G) 2 Daniel Gomez Medina (G)

Novice Ladies: 1 Michelle McDonald (SS) 2 Imelda Kennedy (CC) 3 Ruth Kennedy (G) 4 Kathryn Kennedy (G) 5 Valerie O’Callaghan (SS) 6 Maggie O’Connor (SJ) 7 Hanora O’Connor (SJ) 8 Joya Buras (KCH) 9 Lorraine Carroll (G) 10 Sharron O’Hara (G) 11 Marie Maher (KCH) 12 Mairead Long (SS) 13 Leona Magee (G) 14 Sinead Kelly (KCH) 15  Rosanne Kennedy (SS) 16 Ciara Griffin (G) 17 Deirdre Kelsey (G) 18 Pamela Kelly (G) 19 Stephanie Ryan (G) 20 Tracey Malone (SJ) 21 Meave McGuinness (KCH) Teams: 1 Gowran 2 St Senans 3 KCH

Novice Mens: 1 Tom Corrigan (G) 2 Pat Purcell (KCH) 3 Mark O’Duffy (KCH) 4 James McLoughlin (KCH) 5 Keith Doyle (KCH) 6 Eddie O’Keeffe (KCH) 7 JD Flynn (KCH) 8 Robert Cunningham (KCH) 9 Stephen O’Connor (SJ) 10 Gerry Walsh (TT) 11 Joe Treacy (G) 12 David Hamilton (KCH) 13 John Leamy (G) 14 George Carpendale (SS) 15 Mark Bercoe (G) 16 Sean Dunne (G) 17 John Finn (SS) 18 Kevin Manning (KCH) 19 Derek Deck (TT) 20 Pat Lennon (G) 21 James Delahunty (G) 22 Stephen Carew (SS) 23 Pat Hayden (G) 24 Adrian Allen (SS). Teams: 1 KCH 2 KCH 3 Gowran.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: