2018 County Evens XCountry

A great days running on the slopes of Bishops mountain in Johnny Grennan’s field. Many a battle was fought in the surrounding countryside – but nothing like the athletic battles fought here today. With lots of keenly contested races, it gave the Prix de l’arc de Triomphe a run for its money for sheer value and excitement.

St Senans lead the challenge for the best overall juvenile club by a meagre 2 points from Gowran AC. Liam Kealy has vowed to get every child in the North East out running for next weeks stage in Castlecomer. Armed with a rather strange looking weapon he kept stored in the structure of the Gowran tent (see photo) I doubt anyone will argue.
St Senans AC are keeping mum on how they will react to the challenge. One suspects the King of the Mountains himself Bill Lacey will be looking at all options. He has taken to the twitter machine to throw out some hints. @billlacey2011

Peter Barry ditched the hurley today in favour of the spikes and found the experience a totally pleasing one. Running in the St Josephs AC singlet, he won a very close battle with Gowran’s Derek Kehoe. Peter is now sending out a challenge to the Kilkenny team of 1999 to line up for the next Masters race. Word has it DJ Carey has already enlisted. Castlecomer should be an interesting race.

Join us next week at 11am in Castlecomer for day 2 of the Juvenile Championships, featuring the odd ages and more masters competitions.

Girls: u/8: 1 Mia Brennan (TT) 2 Katie Byrne (BH) 3 Emma Nicol (BH) 4 Zoe Landon (TT) 5 Holly Murphy (SJ) 6 Emer Keating (G) 7 Eve Gilmartin (SS) 8 Hannah Purcell (KCH) 9 Molly Doheny (SS) 10 Saoirse Doheny (SJ)
Girls u/10: 1 Kate Maher (KCH) 2 Megan Kinsella (BH) 3 Moya O’Shea (TT) 4 Kate Hayden (G) 5 Grace Gilmartin (SS) 6 Katie O’Shea (TT) 7 Martha Bergin (KCH) 8 Emma Hogan (KCH) 9 Amy O’Shea (TT) 10 Lily Ryan (KCH) Teams: 1 KCH 2 Thomastown 3 Gowran
Girls u/12: 1 Hazel Coogan (G) 2 Charlotte Carpendale (SS) 3 Alexandra Brennan (G) 4 Ava Mullally (SJ) 5 Orla Brennan (G) 6 Lily Ryan (SJ) 7 Roisin Burns (KCH) 8 Aine O’Callaghan (SS) 9 Caoimhe Fennelly (TT) 10 Caoimhe Power (TT) 11 Eimear Cormack (KCH) 12 Eimear Brennan (G) 13 Hannah Quinn (KCH) 14 Marie Farrell (TT) 15 Keela Garvey (SJ) 1 Gowran 2 St Senans 3 St Josephs
Girls u/14: 1 Sarah Kehoe (G) 2 Marie O’Keeffe (TT) 3 Orlaith Kirwan (TT) 4 Caoimhe Phelan (SS) 5 Molly O’Dornan(CC) 6 Rachel O’Neill (G) 7 Maeve Bookle (SJ) 8 Molly Long (SS) 9 Grace Glennon (SJ) 10 Libby Murphy (SS) 11 Katie O’Neill (CC) 12 Juliette Evans (SS) 13 Sophie Williams (SS) 14 Niamh Ryan (KCH) 15 Laura Kehoe (KCH) Teams: 1 St Senans 2 Gowran 3 Castlecomer
Girls u/16: 1 Hannah Kehoe (G) 2 Aine Kirwan (TT) 3 Hannah O’Keeffe (TT) 4 Fiona Dillon (TT) 5 Eleanor Godden (KCH) 6 Saoirse Allen (SS) 7 Clodagh Monahan (SS) 8 Danielle Griffin (SJ) 9 Ciara Mullally (SJ) 10 Orla O’Shea (TT) 11 Katie Bookle (SJ). Team Thomastown
Girls u/18: 1 Annie McEvoy (KCH) 2 Aoife Allen (SS) 3 Tara Ramaswamy (SS) 4 Sophie Jackman (SS) 5 Aine Phelan (SS) 6 Ellen Ryan (TT) 7 Fiona O’Keeffe (TT) 8 Nell Murphy (SS). Team; St Senans

Boys u/8: 1 David Keating (BH) 2 Sean Doherty (SJ) 3 Sean Carroll (KCH) 4 Rory Treacy (G) 5 Oisin Doyle (G) 6 Sean Croke (SJ) 7 MJ Carroll (G) 8 Peter Quinn (KCH) 9 Joey Bolger (BH) 10 Dylan Murphy (SJ)
Boys u/10: 1 Robert Lacey (KCH) 2 Hugo Tierney (BH) 3 Robert Coogan (G) 4 Sam McAviney (G) 5 Tomas Carroll (G) 6 David Bolger (BH) 7 Kyle Bolger (SJ) 8 Conor Carroll (G) 9 Odhran Prendergast (G) 10 David Phelan (SS) Team: 1 Gowran 2 Barrow Harriers 3 Gowran
Boys u/12: 1 Joss O’Connor (SJ) 2 Issac Carew (SS) 3 Patrick Lacey (KCH) 4 Anil Ramaswamy (SS) 5 Tom Kehoe (G) 6 James Cummins (SJ) 7 Michael O’Shea (SS) 8 Darragh Dunne (G) 9 Luke Browne (KCH) 10 Michael Holland (G) 11 James O’Neill (CC) 12 Aidan Keating (G) 13 Luke Vereker (SJ) 14 Luke Gamble (CC) 15 Jamie Cahalane (CC) Teams: 1 St Senans 2 Gowran 3 St Josephs
Boys u/14: 1 David Williams (SS) 2 Billy Coogan (G) 3 Harry Boyle (KCH) 4 Naoise Gilmartin (SS) 5 Gearoid Long (SS) 6 Ben Wallis (SS) 7 Luke Phelan (G) 8 Rory McEvoy (KCH) 9 Eoin Aylward (SS) 10 Sean Young (KCH) 11 Matthew McAviney (G) 12 Liam Rea (KCH) 13 Iueri Prendergast (G) 14 Mikey Keating (G) 15 Diego Garaban (KCH). Teams: 1 St Senans 2 KCH 3 Gowran
Boys u/16: 1 Tadgh Connolly (SS) 2 Tom Lodge (KCH) 3 Colm Roche (SS) 4 Josh Fenton (SS) 5 Ryan Cummins (SS) 6 Joe Kerins (KCH) 7 Billy Power (TT) 8 Cillian Dunne (G) 9 Matthew Holland (G) 10 David Byrne (G) 11 James Walsh (SS) 12 Diego Rodriguez (G) 13 Joe Roche (SS). Teams: 1 St Senans 2 Gowran
Boys u/18: 1 James Kearne (KCH) 2 Luke Whelan (KCH) 3 Cathal Kearney (KCH) 4 John Muldowney (KCH). Team: KCH

Ladies over 40: 1 Maria Griffin (SJ) 2 Marie Cormack (KCH) 3 Kate Millea (KCH) 4 Emer Hickey (KR) 5 Frances Mullally (SJ) 6 Breda Hennessy (SJ) 7 Irene Lennon (KR) 8 Susan Lanigan (SJ) 9 Siobhan O’Dwyer (G) 10 Dolores McLoughlin (KV). Team: St Josephs
Men over 40: 1 Peter Barry (SJ) 2 Derek Kehoe (G) 3 David Lanigan (SJ) 4 Stephen O’Connor (SJ) 5 Pat Bookle (SJ) 6 Bill Carroll (TT). Team: St Josephs

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: